FAQs

Categories

Lotteries

What is a 'matched' ticket?

When you place an order with us, you are purchasing games in our own Government approved lotteries e.g. USA Power Lotto. After receiving your order, we then purchase a matching ticket in the overseas lottery e.g. US Powerball. We own and play this ticket, collect any prize money and pay your matching ticket the exact value of the prize that we collect. Once we have safely secured the matching ticket, we issue you with a Lottery Office ticket. These tickets can be viewed under in the My Draws section under 'My Account' in the main menu.

We refer to the overseas lottery ticket as the 'matched' ticket because it matches in all details to your Lottery Office ticket.

What lotteries do you offer?

USA Power Lotto (matching tickets purchased in US Powerball)

Draws are held in Darwin every Thursday and Sunday.
US Powerball has two drums. The first one contains 69 balls, from which 5 will be drawn. The second one contains 26 balls, from which, one Powerball will be drawn. 
Players select 5 numbers to match those drawn from the first drum and 1 number to match the Powerball drawn from the second.
Guaranteed minimum first division: US $40 million (approx. AUD $50 million)
The lottery jackpot record is US $1.5 billion (over AUD $2 billion)

Useful link: Play USA Power Lotto

USA Mega Lotto (matching tickets purchased in US Mega Millions)

Draws are held in Darwin every Wednesday and Saturday.
US Mega Millions has two drums. The first, contains 70 balls numbered from 1 to 70, from which 5 will be drawn. The second, contains 25 balls, from which, the Mega Ball will be drawn.
Players select 5 numbers to match those drawn from the first drum and 1 number to match the Mega Ball drawn from the second.
Guaranteed minimum first division: US $40 million (approx. AUD $50 million)
The lottery jackpot record is US $1.6 billion (approx. AUD $2.2 billion)

Useful link: Play USA Mega Lotto

European Millions (matching tickets purchased in Europe's EuroMillions)

Draws are held in Darwin every Wednesday and Saturday.
EuroMillions has two drums. The first contains 50 balls, numbered from 1 to 50. The second, contains 11 balls, numbered from 1 to 12, from which 2 Lucky Star balls will be drawn.
Players select 5 numbers to match those drawn from the first drum and 2 numbers to match those drawn from the second.
Guaranteed minimum first division prize: €15 million (approx. AUD $23 million)
The lottery jackpot record is €190 million (approx. AUD $290 million)
Superdraws are offered from time to time with a guaranteed jackpot of €130 million (approx. AUD $200+ million)

Useful link: Play European Millions

UK Lotto (matching tickets purchased in the UK National Lottery)

UK Lotto (matching tickets purchased in the UK National Lottery)
Draws are held in Darwin every Thursday and Sunday.
The UK National Lottery is drawn from 59 balls, numbered from 1 to 59.
Players select 6 numbers. 7 balls are drawn; 6 main numbers and a bonus number.
The bonus number is used to determine prizes in Division 2.
Guaranteed minimum first division prize: Wed £2 million (approx. AUD $3.5 million) and Sat £5 million (approx. AUD $8.7 million).
The lottery jackpot record is £66.1 million (approx. AUD $115 million).

Please note: Certain promotional prizes are only able to be claimed within the country of the overseas lottery therefore we do not offer the division 6 prize 'Free Lucky Dip'. Additionally we do not offer the 'Millionaire Raffle Prize'.

Useful link: Play UK Lotto

Irish Lotto (matching tickets purchased in the Irish National Lottery's 'Lotto')

Draws are held in Darwin every Thursday and Sunday.
The Irish National Lottery's 'Lotto' is drawn from 47 balls, numbered from 1 to 47.
Players select 6 numbers. 7 balls are drawn of which; 6 main numbers and a Bonus number.
The Bonus number is used to determine prizes in Divisions 2, 4, and 6.
Guaranteed prize: €2 million (approx. AUD $3 million).
The lottery jackpot record is €18.9 million (approx. AUD $28 million).

Please note: Certain promotional prizes are only able to be claimed within the country of the overseas lottery therefore we do not offer the division 9 prize scratchcard.

Useful link: Play Irish Lotto

Italian Super Jackpot (matching tickets purchased in Italy's National SuperEnalotto)

Draws are held in Darwin every Wednesday, Friday & Sunday.
Italy's SuperEnalotto is drawn from 90 balls, numbered from 1 to 90.
Players select 6 numbers. 7 balls are drawn of which; 6 main numbers and a Jolly number.
The Jolly number is used to determine prizes in Division 2.
The 'Instant Win Prize' automatically assigns each ticket with 4 numbers. If all 4 numbers match numbers you are playing in any of the main games on that ticket (excluding SuperStar numbers), you receive an Instant Win prize of €25 (approx. $40).
Guaranteed minimum first prize: €2 million (approx. AUD $3 million).
The lottery jackpot record is €209 million (approx. AUD $330 million).

Please note: We do not offer the 'SuperStar' feature.

Useful link: Play Italian Super Jackpot

European Jackpot (matching tickets purchased in Germany's Eurojackpot)

Draws are in Darwin held every Saturday.
The Eurojackpot is drawn from 50 balls, numbered 1-50.
Players select 5 main numbers from a pool of 1-50 as well as two euro numbers from a pool of 1-10.
Guaranteed minimum first prize: €10 million (approx. AUD $17 million).
The lottery jackpot is capped at €90 million (approx. AUD $145 million). The jackpot will stay at this cap until it is won. When the jackpot is at the cap and isn’t won, any excess prize money will roll down to the winner in the next highest division.

Useful link: Play European Jackpot

Can't find the lottery you wish to play? Please feel free to send your request to support@lotteryoffice.com.au

What time do entries close?

USA Power Lotto: Draw closes Thursdays and Sundays at 11:00am AEST (10:30am ACST, 9:00am AWST, 12:00pm AEDT)

USA Mega Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 11:00am AEST (10:30am ACST, 9:00am AWST, 12:00pm AEDT)

European Millions: Draw closes Tuesdays and Fridays at 11:00pm AEST (10:30pm ACST, 9:00pm AWST, 12:00am AEDT)

UK Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 11:00pm AEST (10:30pm ACST, 9:00pm AWST, 12:00am AEDT)

Irish Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 11:00pm AEST (10:30pm ACST, 9:00pm AWST, 12:00am AEDT)

Italian Super Jackpot: Draw closes Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at 11:00pm AEST (10:30pm ACST, 9:00pm AWST, 12:00am AEDT)

European Jackpot: Draw closes Fridays at 11:00pm AEST (10:30pm ACST, 9:00pm AWST, 12:00am AEDT)

Overseas Daylight Savings Hours

For close times during overseas daylight savings hours, please see below:

USA Power Lotto: Draw closes Thursdays and Sundays at 10:00am AEST (9:30am ACST, 8:00am AWST, 11:00am AEDT)

USA Mega Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:00am AEST (9:30am ACST, 8:00am AWST, 11:00am AEDT)

European Millions: Draw closes Tuesdays and Fridays at 10:00pm AEST (9:30pm ACST, 8:00pm AWST, 11:00pm AEDT)

UK Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:00pm AEST (9:30pm ACST, 8:00pm AWST, 11:00pm AEDT)

Irish Lotto: Draw closes Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:00pm AEST (9:30pm ACST, 8:00pm AWST, 11:00pm AEDT)

Italian Super Jackpot: Draw closes Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at 10:00pm AEST (9:30pm ACST, 8:00pm AWST, 11:00pm AEDT)

European Jackpot: Draw closes Fridays at 10:00pm AEST (9:30pm ACST, 8:00pm AWST, 11:00pm AEDT

Useful Link: Play Now

What time is each lottery draw?

USA Power Lotto

USA Power Lotto is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

US Powerball is matched to our USA Power Lotto and is drawn at 22:59 ET on Wednesdays & Saturdays in Florida, USA (Thursday & Sunday 12:59pm AEST, 12:29pm ACST, 10:59am AWST, 13:59pm AEDT)

USA Mega Lotto

USA Mega Lotto is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

US Mega Millions is matched to our USA Mega Lotto and is drawn at 23:00 ET on Tuesday & Friday in Atlanta, Georgia, USA (Wednesday & Saturday 13:00pm AEST, 12:30pm ACST, 11:00am AWST, 14:00pm AEDT)

European Millions

European Millions is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

EuroMillions is matched to our European Millions and is drawn at 20:45 CET on Tuesday & Friday in Paris, France (Wednesday & Saturday 5:45am AEST, 5:15am ACST, 3:45am AWST, 6:45am AEDT)

UK Lotto

UK Lotto is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

UK Lottery is matched to our UK Lotto and is drawn at 20:30 GMT on Wednesday & Saturday in UK (Thursday & Sunday 6:30am AEST, 6:00am ACST, 4:30am AWST, 7:30 AEDT)

Irish Lotto

Irish Lotto is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

Irish 'Lotto' is matched to our Irish Lotto and is drawn at 20:00 GMT on Wednesday & Saturday in Ireland (Thursday & Sunday 6:00am AEST, 5:30am ACST, 4:00am AWST, 7:00 AEDT)

Italian Super Jackpot

Italian Super Jackpot is our own SuperEnalotto and is drawn in Darwin when the winning numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

Italy's National SuperEnalotto is matched to our Italian Super Jackpot and is drawn at 20:30 CET Tuesdays, Thursdays & Saturdays in Rome, Italy (Wednesday, Fridays & Sundays 5:30am AEST, 5:00am ACST, 3:30am AWST, 6:30am AEDT)

European Jackpot

European Jackpot is our own lottery and is drawn in Darwin when the winnings numbers are declared by our lottery system following the matching lottery draw overseas. Matching lottery draw times are below:

Eurojackpot is matched to our European Jackpot and is drawn at 20:00 EET on Fridays in Finland. (Saturdays 4:00am AEST, 3:30am ACST, 2:00am AWST, 5:00 AEDT)

Overseas Daylight Savings Hours

For draw times during overseas daylight savings hours, please see below:

US Powerball is drawn at 22:59 EST on Wednesdays & Saturdays in Florida, USA (Thursday & Sunday 13:59pm AEST, 13:29pm ACST, 11:59am AWST, 14:59 AEDT)

US Mega Millions is drawn at 23:00 EST on Tuesday & Friday in Atlanta, Georgia, USA (Wednesday & Saturday 14:00pm AEST, 13:30pm ACST, 12:00am AWST, 15:00pm AEDT)

EuroMillions is drawn at 20:45 CEST on Tuesday & Friday in Paris, France (Wednesday & Saturday 4:45am AEST, 4:15am ACST, 2:45am AWST, 5:45am AEDT)

UK Lottery is drawn at 20:30 BST on Wednesday & Saturday in UK (Thursday & Sunday 5:30am AEST, 5:00am ACST, 3:30am AWST, 6:30am AEDT)

Irish Lotto is drawn at 20:00 IST on Wednesday & Saturday in Ireland (Thursday & Sunday 5:00am AEST, 4:30am ACST, 3:00am AWST, 6:00am AEDT)

Italy's National SuperEnalotto is matched to our Italian Super Jackpot and is drawn at 20:30 CEST Tuesdays, Thursdays & Saturdays in Rome, Italy (Wednesday, Fridays & Sundays 4:30am AEST, 4:00am ACST, 2:30am AWST, 5:30am AEDT)

Eurojackpot is drawn at 20:00 EEST on Fridays in Finland (Saturdays 3:00am AEST, 2:30am ACST, 1:00am AWST, 4:00am AEDT)

Useful link: Play Now

What is the multiplier?

The multiplier is an additional feature that can be selected when playing both USA Power Lotto and USA Mega Lotto. Selecting the multiplier can multiply non-jackpot prizes by up to 10 times!

The feature works slightly differently for each lottery as outlined below:

USA Power Lotto:

  • From a pool of 43 balls, one is marked with 10x, two with 5x, three with 4x, 13 with 3x and 24 with 2x
  • The ball marked with 10x multiplier is only available when the jackpot is $150 million or less
  • The second division prize with multiplier is always $2 million

USA Mega Lotto:

  • From a pool of 15 balls, one is marked with 5x, three with 4x, six with 3x and five with 2x
  • All multiplier balls are available no matter what the jackpot for USA Mega Lotto

When are the lottery results updated on the site?

Results will be displayed as 'Pending' on The Lottery Office website as soon as the draw has taken place, which occurs when the winning numbers have been entered into our lottery system. Following this draw the results will be changed to 'Verified' once The Lottery Office have confirmed the winning numbers and divisional prize details. This will usually be completed within 2-3 hours after the draw time.